Forums > Social Chat > buying armwraps/flame-resistant clothing???

Login/Join to Participate

Sean Bmember
1 post

Posted:
Hey all,

I've been spinning non-fire for a little over 18 months in the North Eastern US. Now I'm ready to make that leap into fire, but want to be prepared and safe...

I have all the proper fire eqiupment but would like to know where I could find some armwraps. Kind of like the ones Sage in her video is wearing?

I could make something like that myself, but didn't know if I could easily buy them. I'm also interested in fire-resistant clothing. I've seen a few sites for firefighters that offer good protection, but wanted some input from you all?

Thanks for the time, wisdom, and direction!

Any links would be great!

Sean B

Hacker, Spinner, Lover, Poet...

~ Calm down it's only a bunch of ones and zeros...

XanathBRONZE Member
67 posts

Posted:
Well, the arm wrap thinggees ive seen them for sale once. When i went back to the site to order a pair they didnt have them. I suppose you could make them out of suede. My freind has a bunch and i havent gotten around to experimenting yet. You dont need arm wraps unless you are going to wear a short sleave shirt. As for protective clothing...Anything of a pure cotton weave will do. When i spin all i wear when its warm is a long sleave cotton shirt and a pair of old JNCO's. When its really hot out i wear no shirt at all, wait till your confident enough in your skills to spin without a shirt for the potential to burn yourself is extremely high. When its cold i wear a thick army surplus denim shirt/jacket. You can layer up to according to temperature. For your head a bandana will do but a hat will do better. Turn it backwards though.. it makes it easier to see what you are doing.

Power percieved is power achieved.

oliSILVER Member
not with cactus
2,052 posts

Posted: