DeepSoulSheepGOLD Member
Carpal \'Tunnel
2,617 posts

Posted:
I want to start meditating. I have a friend who is self taught and says I can do the same. My girlfriend went to the Dublin Meditation Centre and says that I'm far better off going there but it costs like 120 quids which is pretty steep. She is adamant that it's worth is though and she misses the place. I've heard that group meditation can be special and I also know that they teach you techniques to recognise certain things and how to correct yourself and stuff like that. I know she also did various special meditations like trying to move the feelings you have for someone you love to someone you hate and special meditations for people who've died and such and such.

Well what's the craic, I can't really afford that money but I'd hate to be missing out on something and if I'm going to take the trouble to learn to meditate I may as well get the most out of it.

I live in a world of infinite possibilities.

flidBRONZE Member
Carpal \'Tunnel
3,136 posts

Posted:
Do you want to do meditation that follows a specific religion?

Buddhist centres normally provide meditation sessions for free or a small donation to cover the costs of the building. The ones i've been to (WBO) are deivided into 2 parts, firstly meditation based on buddhist techniques, then buddhist teachings afterwards. There's a break in the middle so you are free to leave before the second half if you are not interested in buddhism. Which is good, because there's nothing worse than religions with active recruitment drives.

DeepSoulSheepGOLD Member
Carpal \'Tunnel
2,617 posts

Posted:
It is a buddhist centre and is 'not for profit' I've met a guy from there before in my pursuit for 'public space' and know there rent is high because it's based in the city centre...

flidBRONZE Member
Carpal \'Tunnel
3,136 posts

Posted: