pltearthstranger
2 posts

Posted:
Hey all!
I've been spinning for about 3 months, sometimes on and off, but lately I've been putting a lot more effort into it. By the way, this is my first post on this forum! I really want to get good and learn a bunch of moves in order to have total freedom of movement and be able to dance freely... Anyway, to the point of this post... I've been trying hyperloops for 2 days now, and I can see a slight improvement, but I still hit myself a lot, and my poi tangle up a bunch too. These are the weave hyperloops btw... I wanted to get an idea of your experience learning this move... how long did it take you? what helped you, etc...

thanks to all, happy spinning

JuggleSeanGOLD Member
Ooops
116 posts

Posted:
Hello, Welcome to the forums btw.

It took me a long time to understand how hyperloops work. I am currently practicing with different hyperloop variations and am still intrigued by them after playing for over a year. What helped me was to master doing air wraps on each side and direction, and spinning very very slowly so I could watch how the poi wind and unwind.

I suggest master air wraps, watch this video

#! , and practice like crazy.

Good luck

Groovy

JamethGOLD Member
enthusiast
378 posts

Posted:
IMO it's hours practice not time - given that and the fact I don't measure closely:

I went the airwrap first route, and starting with good wall plane and split timing control it took me about 15 hours to get airwraps solid with both hands (I'm kinda slow learning new phyiscal skills).

Another 10 hours or so to get hyperloops both ways - my evil hand usually takes about twice as long as my good one.

Paddington BearSILVER Member
118 posts

Posted:
I find when i try to lock a hyperloop in that one end ends up longer than other putting the spin off, how i dont know? anyone seen or had this problem. Im using the cone poi with the swivel and knob handles btw.