warren79BRONZE Member
stranger
9 posts

Posted:
Im new to using glow poi and looking to buy me a set soon.

I need to know what is a good set to start with.Im basically looking for something robust but not to hard either.Must be strong enough to hit each other without breaking into pieces but also be soft enough to hit me in the face without causing brain damage.

I was looking at the OGG poi but have been reading a lot of bad reviews.They are soft but people say the are fragile?????

Anyone know of a good set of glow poi to start off with?

EDITED_BY: warren79 (1228888255)

Mother_Natures_SonSILVER Member
Rampant whirler.
2,418 posts

Posted:
MY suggestion is to buy some oggs, not ogg poi... oggs. and make them yourself.

Buy some eyelets. Buy some colecord... figure out what your favourite handle type is (I personally tied the colecord into a loop that my fingers can go in, but you can add any kind of handle.

The main issue I see with the oggpoi design is that they secured it in the top of the egg, I did mine by punching a hole in each side, toward the actual LED unit... this way, if my poi clip something... the unit isnt hitting anything, its just the soft eggy bit. grin

If you need any further instructions I can put some pictures up, though I'll be going away for the weekend soon so it shan't be swift. smile

hug

ElectricBlueGOLD Member
Now with extra strawberries
810 posts

Posted:
Mother_Natures_Son, sounds like a really cool method of attachment. I might have a go at making some my self some day.

Also warren79 I'm not sure where you are located but here in Australia there is a skill toy brand called YoHo who make a pretty good beginners glow poi actually they aren't much different to the design mother_natures_son is describing but they would be good if you aren't technically inclined.

Oh and the really cool part about them is they are fairly cheep and you can choose between settings of colour fade , strobe, or just one plain colour.