swirlygrrlSILVER Member
34 posts

Posted:
Hi everyone!

I guess I'm an intermediate beginner or beginning intermediate spinner, but I am have the worst trouble getting my planes straight at the small of my back and over my head. They keep turning into diagonals, moving toward floor/ceiling planes, especially when I try to do a windmill.

Any advice on hand/arm positioning? Or anything else that might help?

MuckySILVER Member
Rum-Swilling Combustioneer
227 posts

Posted:
Yep, stretch your arms daily (as part of your warmup/stretching routine, if you do that, otherwise just work it in when you can) to improve flexibility and stability. If you're straining your arms you can't focus on good technique. Clasp your hands together behind your back and use your shoulders (not a ledge or prop) to pull them up while keeping your elbows straight. This will strengthen the correct muscles and make it easier for you to keep your arms in that position. Also, make sure to stand up straight; don't bend or crouch if you can help it. It'll make the moves look better overall, and it'll force you to keep your form.

And do lots of btb butterflies! It will also help if you do reels while standing with your back to a wall so that you can hear/feel the poi hit, and it will help you keep it vertical.

The real trouble I've had wasn't so much keeping them straight was switching back and forth in reels; that's where it started to wobble. Pay attention to your wrist orientation, and think about using wrist rolls (where you bend your palm as close to the wrist as you can; the following hand in a 5-beat weave is rolled for the last beat) with reels. It helped me, and I think it looks cooler.

Bouncing Baby Pipe!

Mother_Natures_SonSILVER Member
Rampant whirler.
2,418 posts

Posted: