Liquid Prodigymember
7 posts

Posted:
Hello HOP, let me introduce myself- my name is Mel and I d.b.a. Liquid Prodigy over here in Florida. I’ve not posted on this board, but I read it from time to time. I definitely enjoy the insightful move instructions and the easygoing discussions you guys have.

I would like to take a moment and thank Pele, Malcolm, and Adam Rice for a few things. I buy my equipment from Adam and Malcolm. Pele has posted information that has definitely helped me in my poi endeavors. Thanks guys!

I hope someone can help me with the problem I’m having now.

I’ve done searches on here and I have been researching this, but I would really like the opinions of other spinners that are professional with these arts.

I’ve been spinning for a few years now and I’ve been getting booked more and more lately. Permits are an absolute pain. If you try to approach a fire authority, aside from being horribly condescending, they’re always considerably less than helpful. I’ve been asked to do a 29-week national tour starting in April. I’d be in a different city and venue every week. That means I need to obtain a fire permit from 29 different fire marshals. Is there any set fire performing criteria anywhere? Is it always going to be a gray area interpretation everywhere I go?

The pay is really good, but if I’m going to have to spend hours knocking heads with a fire marshal, it might not be worth it. It might not even be plausible. When I read about the trouble some of you go through with just a local fire authority, I can only imagine how hard it would be do obtain all these permits. I’ve thought about compiling a video of my performance, safety procedures, and equipment to maybe aid them in understanding what I do, but who’s to say that will help.

Has anyone every toured or had to deal with this at all? My venues will mostly be clubs, aquariums, community centers, coliseums, etc. I would just like to know if this is doable or worth the hassle.