Forums > Help! > how long do i soke my brand new fire staff?

Login/Join to Participate

phenea1BRONZE Member
8 posts

Posted:
I am new at fire spinning. I just bought a fire staff from this website and am wondering how long i have to soak the wicks in lamp oil intil im ready to spin. Please help.

phenea1BRONZE Member
8 posts

Posted:
anyone

Mint SauceBRONZE Member
veteran
1,453 posts

Posted:
1 don’t use lamp oil use paraffin
2 dunk them till they stop bubbling and drain till it is just dripping a bit. (Long soaking is not needed it is an old spinners myth)
3 do a search for related topics this one has been covered many many times before you will find many an augment on the merits of pre-soaking and quick dunks if you look for them

before i met those lot i thought they'd be a bunch of dreadlocked hippies that smoked, set things on fire ,and drank a lot of tea but then when i met them....oh wait (PyroWill)

Mint SauceBRONZE Member
veteran
1,453 posts

Posted:
Ok so I just did a search and didn’t come up with much I'm sure iv been involved in these arguments why cant I find them hummmmmmm

before i met those lot i thought they'd be a bunch of dreadlocked hippies that smoked, set things on fire ,and drank a lot of tea but then when i met them....oh wait (PyroWill)

phenea1BRONZE Member
8 posts

Posted:
thank you very much. But lamp oil is made of almost 100 precent parafin.

phenea1BRONZE Member
8 posts

Posted:
but thanks for the socking tips

Mint SauceBRONZE Member
veteran
1,453 posts

Posted:
"almost" it has added chemicals to stop it being so smoky they are not good chemicals to be inhaled (to early to go into details) but if it is all you have it wont kill you this once. a lot of American spinners use Colman’s white gas (I don’t like it the flash point is a bit low for me)

Mr MajestikSILVER Member
coming to a country near you
4,696 posts

Posted:
also have a brows through the articles section of HoP to learn everything you should need to know.