boopoiBRONZE Member
99 posts

Posted:
I am new to twirling poi and have recently brought the poi video off HoP. I'm finding it really difficult! I've been reading this site,(which I'm addicted too!) including reviews of products that say 'just brought poi as a beginner and I've already learnt loads of tricks' etc etc. I'm trying to learn the butterfly trick with each arm going over my shoulders (that progresses onto the mexican wave) but I just can't get my head around it. I can just about do it if I start by swinging the poi backwards, but the video says to start by swinging the poi forwards.
I'd just like to know, did all you guys pick up poi and were naturals from the beginning? Do you all get frustrated coz you can't do moves sometimes? Should I give up now coz I don't have the natural flare?!? I just want to be as good as the women on the video! Help!!!

Boo x

Always remember... one MUST protect thy bread....

Tao StarPooh-Bah
1,662 posts

Posted:
this is probably the most unhelpful comment you will hear toady...but don't do it cause you want to be as good as anyone else. play around!

if you can't learn a trick - don't worry, just make pretty patterns & as you get used to the feel of them, more stuff will come.

pssss..it's also really helpful to have someone to show you stuff sometimes, often it's impossible to work out what you're doing wrong because you can't see properly, so you need a handy helper!

I had a dream that my friend had a
strong-bad pop up book,
it was the book of my dreams.

thelostSILVER Member
mmm...i feel all warm and fuzzy... 'no dude, that's your hair on fire'
355 posts

Posted:
Written by: boopoi

Do you all get frustrated coz you can't do moves sometimes?

Answer: All the time biggrin

I've been spinning for about 3 months now and it happens every time I try to learn something new because your mind knows what you need to do, but your body just won't listen tongue