GottaLoveItSponge
883 posts

Posted:
I'm not very good at talking to or helping people but I'm going to make it my soul determination with this guy, He's not doing well at the moment and hasn't been for weeks. The Dr. says he's manic depressive which makes him feel worse, anyone got any tips? I'm not sure how to deal with it? I had a friend who did this before for attention, as soon as we stopped being friends she became normal, I know that's not how I help this friend.
Otherwise my life's fine and I'm a normal happy bunny, don't wish to add a strain on the board... just advice would be welcome and you're all great at giving it.....

Monkeys monkeys and bananas

BirdGOLD Member
now available in "advanced"
6,086 posts

Posted:
My best advice (not that i'm any authority on it or anything) would be simply to be a good friend to this person and be there for them when they need support, often I have found that the simplest things can help the most, like being there to listen when your friend wants someone to talk to.

Hope all goes well.

hug peace

My state of mind is not yours to define!

There is a very fine line between "hobby" and "mental illness."

pounceSILVER Member
All the neurotic makings of America's lesser known sweetheart
9,831 posts

Posted:
ya if your friend is manic depressive, he's not doing it for attention. however, as a psychologist, i have to warn you that this can be something extremely hard to deal with. is he taking medication? how are his mood swings? being there for him to talk to is the best thing you can do, but like i said, it can be very draining on you, particularly once he gets into a manic phase. you can always do an online search, there are onine support groups and whatnot, for both him and families/friends of someone with bipolar. i'm a lil sleepy at the moment, but once i wake up if i find any specific sites i'll let you know.