Page:
FoxFiremember
90 posts

Posted:
I have a few questions that I haven't been able to find answers to. They may seem trivial, but I'd really like to find out.Is there any difference in using, say, the blue-coloured ultra-pure lamp oil vs. clear (or even mixing them)?From what I've read about white spirit fuels, does Mineral Spirits burn the same/different as, say, Coleman fuel?Has anyone tried using something like isopropal or denatured alcohol for a fuel? I read somewhere that they could be used; although, they wouldn't give off much of a flame.The reason I ask is that a department store here is going out of business and having a sale. Having spent many days, now, reading up on fuels and fire safety, I'd really like to get things right since I am just beginning into using fire.(note to self: look at fire extenguishers when I go back to buy fuel.)------------------Deuteronomy 31:6John 15:9

Deuteronomy 31:6
John 15:9
Luke 6:22

Peregrinemember
428 posts

Posted:
the colored lamp oil is basically the same as clear lamp oil for spinning, however it will stain clothes etc. and not wash out very well, whereas clear will. you will then find out just how much residual fuel you do spin off when you find yourself covered in little red/blue stains. theyre the same, there would be no point to mixing them except to get less blue and possibly slightly less smoke from the more pure kind.you could use alcohol but the fire would be wimpy. dont know about mineral spirit (US) ie. paint-thinner which may or may not be equivalent to naptha/coleman fuel...see the hop thing on fuels for info about paint thinner...I probably wouldn't use it. MSDS for mineral spirits:https://www.astrochemicals.com/10238.htmPere

PeleBRONZE Member
the henna lady
6,193 posts

Posted: