Page:
Agnimember
28 posts

Posted:
Hi all!I've been doing both single staff and poi for a few months now, and would like to learn double staff.Unfortunately, I don't know anyone who actually does double staff frownDoes anyone have any suggestions on how (or where) to learn double staff?Thanks all...

becBRONZE Member
521 posts

Posted:
If you've been twirling both single staff and poi then I'm sure you'll have enough technique to move into double staff by yourself. At first, just focus on one-handed staff moves like figure-8's and shoulder rolls (in all directions - forwards, backwards, vertical, horizontal, in front, to the side etc etc) and then just practise them in your non-dominant (?!) hand and then when you feel really comfortable with them try combining them with both hands... It does sound easier than it is at first, but you'll find (like everything) it does get easy with practise... Best of luck... I'm trying to talk Elke into doing up some illustrations for a double staff book, but if the first one (technique for single staff) is anything to go by, it could be a while off yet!?!Happy twirling!Love Bec

Agnimember
28 posts

Posted:
Thanks Bec!I've already managed to do a few tricks with my short staves, but I still have a problem with making up new moves... I'm used to having my staff switch hands all the time smilePerhaps somebody can give me the adress of a site with good double staff movies?Thanks a lot,Guy

pjmember
277 posts

Posted:
Well, have you checked the double staff moves here on HoP? There are also a bunch of realld good double-staff performances on the Circles of Light video that you might want to check out as well.-p.

CharlesBRONZE Member
Corporate Circus Arts Entertainer
3,989 posts

Posted: