flashinglitesnewbie
4 posts

Posted:
Just wondering how many Stilters are out there and how many do it for fun and/or as a job? And also experiences good or bad and advice. I've been stilting for 3 years on 50cm stilts and 1 year on 75cm stilts.

So experiences and advice and how tall are your stilts, plz?

biggrin

Kitsune34SILVER Member
51 posts

Posted:
Not meaning to be rude, but if you look [Old link], you can find stuff on stilts. Or if you do a search, you may find other stuff there. hug

"Always forgive your enemies, for nothing annoys them so much." - Oscar Wilde

lampwortroynewbie
32 posts

Posted:
I stilt for fun. I spend all my stilting time going cross-country, up and down very steep and often slippery/muddy woodland paths or through fast flowing water and up and down flights of steps. I use 20 inch, 24 inch and 36 inch pegs which make me 7ft 8in, 8ft and 9ft high. The best advice I can give is learn how to fall safely before you learn to walk properly, and then practice, practice, practice

NoddyToe Poking Bad Boy
2,865 posts

Posted:
i work with stilts as a job i use powerisers, durastilts, pegstilts and frenchstilts

Remember.........YOU LOSE!!!

-sandy-BRONZE Member
old hand
716 posts

Posted:
I'll be stiltwalking for work tonight. I generally use dura stilts set to around 2' in whatever costume the agency happens to be providing that day (tonight im a killer clown, it is halloween after all).

Genearlly i quite like stilt gigs but sometimes they can be a bit of a hassle, drunk people try to push you over or feel you up. I occasionally do poweriser gigs, they are more fun since people often havnt seen them before so are really interested.

Stilt walking can be quite a good way of making some extra cash fairly easily, as long as you know what your doing, its pretty safe (dont fall over, and if you do, fall on your knees and wear knee pads). Its also loads of fun characterising and playing with people, you get to be someone different for a while.