Calvnewbie
15 posts

Posted:
Hi there,

I'm just learning about the whole poi and staff thing after being introduced to it by my girlfriends daughter who does it. Last week i spent a few hours at Bournemouth where a few people met up with the poi, staff and all the other toys, later they went up onto a side street and did fire which was great to watch.
Now i have two daughters who are just 6 and 7 and have just got thier first set of poi and are still learning the basics. I want to make them a staff to practice with, a proper chrome or aluminium one with the rubber grips etc as explained on the forums here. I was going to just place a couple of ruber caps on each end and tape them up too. I just think it would be better to start as they mean to go on if you know what i mean rather than using the plastic majorette type things they get from the cheapy shops then bust them the next day!
My question is, is thier a general rule of thump how long a kid should start with? They are only little don't forget so should i go by the "ground to armpit" method? I need to get the pole a little bit thinner i think due to thier little hands though. I'm off into B&Q later to see what i can dig up.
Oh yeah, one more question, the wooden dowelling that is placed inside the pipe, i've seen some say that it needs to fill the entire length of the pipe, and some saying that you just need a few inches at each length. Does it matter or does it just effect weight? I need to keep it light enough so they are'nt shattered after a few minutes.

Thanks in advance for any help,

Calv.

simian110% MONKEY EVERY TIME ALL THE TIME JUST CANT STOP THE MONKEY
3,149 posts

Posted:
i'd advise you to make the staffs from broomstick handles or thick dowel, with no metal outer.

Broomsticks:

PROS: Cheaper, easier, less hurty, less bendy and easier to decorate.

CONS: Less shiny, unless you use shiny paper on them.