SimosBRONZE Member
enthusiast
384 posts

Posted:
hey all - i am interested in finding out what others are using as handles for their chains and what grips you use as i am not satisfied with any handles so far...the only thing that i felt confortable with so far was when i tied a kind of knot which would get really tight around my fingers when i started swinging my glowsticks ( the 'chain' was a soft, thick piece of cord though) - well although it did squeeze my fingers a bit( i use the middle and 3rd finger because when i started learning i had a broken index finger - any reasons why using the index is better?) it felt confortable in the sense that i really felt my Poi as extentions of my hands and i could swing with my palms open and fingers nearly straight if i wanted which i quite liked - note that this way you get no friction problems at all; is anyone else using anything really tight around their fingers? what else can do to get a really secure and firm grip??? is there a way to make something that i can put my fingers in and then make it tighter somehow? oh and finally has anyone used the twin finger loop thingie? is it any good?thanx a lot and happy swinging smile , Simos[This message has been edited by Simos (edited 16 December 2000).]

sammiemember
56 posts

Posted:
Hey SImos...long time no see smilePOI HANDLES - we've been using a wide, soft cheap sling material which protect your fingers - using two fingers feels better as it doesn't put so much strain on just one - personal preferance I guess.If you have prusik cord or rope i.e like on practise poi you might wanna tape it up to avoid blisters......mmmmmm nice! tongueTime to go! Sammie...

bobrobmember
61 posts

Posted:
double loops, are clearly the way forward!esp. with thick material that holds its shape a bit - seems to give you a bit more control on the tricky stuff...i've not looked back mate!inabit(in case youre interested, i use this 2cm wide paraffin wick i had spare)

Peregrinemember
428 posts