flidBRONZE Member
Carpal \'Tunnel
3,136 posts

Posted:
too pised to write a proper post right now, it's a miracle i made it home after the amount of bars/pubs i've been too tonight.

Anyway, the purpose of this post:

I've been practising wraps for several months now non lit, but it was only today that i really tired them with fire proplery.

I only did ones which i have practiced well, and i executed them to plan, but when i did a butterfly to 5 beat weave via a wrap of the right hand poi over the left arm, i wrapped too much and the chains were in contact with my bare skin for about 2 seconds before i unwrapped them. At the time it just left black soot on my arms, so i thought nothing of it, but now 7 or 8 hours later when i look at them i see it left burns - Not good

I've done firechains/staff a fair amount of times now over the past 6 months with no burns.

I guess the moral of the story is:

Be seriously careful with wraps on bare skin, however practised you are - yhey arn't good

I always take serious care when i do fire poi/fire staff, i guss i feel ashemed of myself for doing something which could harm myself/inspire other people to do the same

that's it, i should really be in bed right now, just thought i'd share this thought on the internet, cause i think its really important. Feel free to take the piss out of a drunk person posting, but i just think its important to get this point across. Max respect to anyone who does bare skin wraps regularly without burning themselves, i uess i'm just not good enough

NYCNYC
9,232 posts

Posted:
I never ever ever do wraps on bare skin. Even done correctly, wraps can burn some skin types with some wicks. I really see no point in it except for increasing the chance for getting seriously hurt.

Wait, let me beat someone to the punch "I DO WRAPS ALL THE TIME ON BARE SKIN, YOU ALL ARE P#SSIES!" Yeah, and I know guys with burns up and down their arms from doing bare skin wraps. Some guys think burns are cool.