solarisBRONZE Member
stranger
13 posts

Posted:
so i would like to start with the staff....and i need something for the beginning..are there any advices for making a beginners staff...with what did u all start...

squidBRONZE Member
sanguine
382 posts

Posted:
first thing to do is check out the sticky at the top of the staff forum page by MCP on the Absolute Beginner's guide to Spinning Staff. She does have links back to her site, tepooka.com and a few hints on how to make your own fire staff.

But to start, it really can be anything. I'd go with a simple wooden pole though, as you might be dropping it a lot at the beginning. I used a broom pole with piece of foam pool noodles taped to the ends for padding and balance and for something visual to latch onto. Some tennis raquet grip (4 rolls, to be exact) made a very excellent grip and then your choice of colored electrical tape to mark the balanced middle of the staff. Something bright and contrasting to whatever your grip is, though. It will help you to see where you are trying to grab when doing many moves.

"to a man whose only tool is a hammer, the whole world looks like a nail." Abraham Maslow

NathanielEveristSILVER Member
enthusiast
315 posts

Posted:
I used a bamboo stick I got from the bamboo tree in my backyard. Worked well.

FerroMancernewbie
6 posts

Posted:
Do you find that training with a heavier staff helps get your wrists 'into shape' for faster moves with a lighter staff?

"And he sang to them...until their hearts, wounded with sweet words, overflowed, and their joy was like swords, and they passed in thought out to regions where pain and delight flow together and tears are the very wine of blessedness." - JRR Tolkien

Pogo69SILVER Member
there's no charge for awesomeness... or attractiveness
3,764 posts

Posted:
 Written by :FerroMancer

Do you find that training with a heavier staff helps get your wrists 'into shape' for faster moves with a lighter staff?