Forums > Social Discussion > What does it mean to be grown up or act an age?

Login/Join to Participate

PeleBRONZE Member
the henna lady
6,193 posts

Posted:
Now that is it summer here festie season is in full swing and I am in the thick of it with my body art booth.

I hear all the time "Oh, that's for kids and I'm too grown up for that."
When a kid throws a tantrum "Act your age!"
And my favorite, told to a very responsible adult that I know "Grow up!"

I'm sitting here chilling, listening to tv working on new designs and they keep saying "This isn't good for your age."

And this has gotten me thinking, what does it mean to act an age? From when I was a teacher I can tell you there is very little standard for any age.

What does growing up mean? Being responsible? Mature? Not liking "childish" things anymore?

I am very responsible and mature when I need to be, but I love to play. I wouldn't do what I do if I didn't.

I don't know why this has hit me so suddenly but it's very confusing.

Pele
Higher, higher burning fire...making music like a choir
"Oooh look! A pub!" -exclaimed after recovering from a stupid fall
"And for the decadence of art, nothing beats a roaring fire." -TMK

Rouge DragonBRONZE Member
Insert Champagne Here
13,215 posts

Posted:
I'm not entirely sure, but the first thing that springs to mind is taking responsibility for ones own actions. I think that's an indication of being "grown up"

i would have changed ***** to phallus, and claire to petey Petey

Rougie: but that's what I'm doing here
Arnwyn: what letting me adjust myself in your room?..don't you dare quote that on HoP...

Groovy_DreamSILVER Member
addict
449 posts

Posted:
When you look at all the stupid things that adults do... affairs, wars, crime, etc, I don't think there are many people at all who are actually "grown up", whatever that means.

Rouge DragonBRONZE Member
Insert Champagne Here
13,215 posts

Posted: