Forums > Beginner Poi Moves > Mixing poi with dance and acrobatics??

Login/Join to Participate

CatVanVlietnewbie
17 posts

Posted:
I'm very new to poi but I have some background in dance and acrobatics so I am catching on very quickly.
I was wondering if anyone has tried to mix these things together. I've looked through google videos and haven't seen much.
I've been making some unique moves made from some basic poi moves.
For example, I'll start with a simple butterly and then bring my right leg up in the air in front of the arm motion and lift it up by my head while continuing the butterfly. (yeah im kinda stretchy/flexible). It turned out to look pretty cool.
I've also tried out doing a 3 beat weave and rolling onto my back and then coming back up without stopping.
I think I'm going to do more with this and maybe create some kind of poi/dance routine. Has anyone else heard of this? sorry im rambling. Your thoughts please. ubbrollsmile

Suibomaddict
577 posts

Posted:
Yup, this stuff is done by troupes and performers for performances. There aren't many vids of actual performances out there. Continue on with it and share your stuff with us smile. It's always nice to see dance and body movement.

Peace,
- Sui

Definition of poi- A Hawaiian food made from the tuber of the taro that is cooked, pounded to a paste, and fermented.

Ahnold discussing poi - "It is naht a toober!"

_Poiboy_PLATINUM Member
bastard child of satan
1,113 posts

Posted:
i can do a buzzsaw forwards roll... working on a buzzsaw backwards roll... or a backwards roll without poi basically

Neon_ShaolinGOLD Member
hehe, 'Member' huhuh
6,120 posts

Posted:
When I first started poi I used to compensate for my limited knowledge of moves by poi-ing whilst dancing fast-footed hip-hip style and doing numerous pirouettes (yes, whilst doing the weave very very fast)