Forums > Social Chat > Dealing with criticism.

Login/Join to Participate

PhilomelSILVER Member
39 posts

Posted:
Yesterday, my non-spinning friend and I had about 15 mins to wait at a bus stop. I carry my sock poi around with me everywhere, so I started playing with them while we waited for the bus. I just did the usual butterfly/weave/windmill sort of stuff and lots of turns until he told me that I 'look like I don't know what I'm doing with them' and begged me to put them away. I think I was embarrassing him or something - he really didn't seem to like the fact that people were watching us.

Now I have only been spinning for a couple of months, so I could have handled a comment like "you look like a beginner," but not that. I've been really upset over it. It's ruined my confidence and has been making me spin poorly ever since.

I've been teaching myself from the Art of Poi DVD and Kahn's book. I can do just about everything on the DVD (most of the things in the 'free lessons' section of HoP) apart from one-handed, BTB, and 5-beat stuff. And I'm about halfway through the 'Intermediate Moves' section of Kahn's book (learning waistwraps at the moment). I've even found other spinners in my area and had them confirm that I've done quite a good job of learning by myself. So before yesterday's incident, I liked to think I was making a lot of progress and that I looked pretty damn good while I was spinning (for a beginner), but apparently not.

I don't think this guy has ever even seen fire-twirling before, so I doubt he even knows what it is meant to look like. I really shouldn't let it get to me, but I keep remembering the comment in the back of my mind and it is bothering me. frown

jcrsGOLD Member
the floor is a sea of tigers...
404 posts

Posted: