PhilomelSILVER Member
39 posts

Posted:
I am a beginner who has been learning for almost a month, spending at least a couple of hours practicing each day. So far I can do small circles, big circles, shoulder reels, hip reels, and the forwards 3-beat weave. It's very tempting to just jump ahead and learn more tricks, but after reading the kind of things people say on this forum, I've decided that it will be better in the long run if I concentrate on perfecting what I already know.

I think that my clockwise shoulder reels are very good and are spinning solidly in the wall planes as they are meant to. However, my counter-clockwise shoulder reels and hip reels in general are awful. They are all over the place if viewed from the side, and I'm becoming rather frustrated with them.

I assume that the best way to remedy this is to just drill each hand on its own, and then drill both hands together, until they become smoother. But I was wondering if anyone else has any advice or tips on plane control as far as reels are concerned. It will be much appreciated if anyone can shed some light on this.

Forgive me if posts have been made about this topic already, I did a search but couldn't find much.

In the meantime, I have four exams next week and should really stop procrastinating and go and study, but poi is so addictive!

RicheeBRONZE Member
HOP librarian
1,841 posts

Posted:
Clockwise and counter-clockwise shoulder reels are two parts. From this parts you can complete turn. Try to turn with them. It also shows you the wheel plane part of turn.

:R

POI THEO(R)IST

blu_valleySILVER Member
fluffy mess
197 posts

Posted:
It also helps if you can see yourself in a mirror, then you can adjust your hand bit by bit until you are happy with your planes. Youll normally find thay a very small adjustment changes your plane completely.