MikeGinnyGOLD Member
HOP Mad Doctor
13,925 posts

Posted:
Phone: "Good afternoon, S***** Health Care."
Me: Good afternoon, may I please have medical records?
P: Please hold
*wait 10 seconds*
P: (leads me through a pointless numeric menu that probably all leads to the same clerk, anyways) "Medical records. This is Mary, how may I help you?"
M: "Good afternoon, Mary, my name is Mike G****** and I'm a medical student at the University of Michigan Hospitals. I'm taking care of a patient that was cared for at your center and we requested some lab information yesterday. We haven't received it yet and this gentleman is pretty sick and I'm wondering if there's any way I could get it."
P: "I need to send you to Release of Information"
M: "We already faxed you a Release of Information form yesterday."
P: "Oh, may I have the patient's name?"
M: "Yes, his name is Mr. John Doe and his medical record number for your system is XXXXXX."
P: "One moment." (five moments) "Yes, we show that we mailed that information this morning."
M: "MAILED? We requested a fax."
P: "We don't do faxes, sir."
M: "Ma'am, you must do faxes, what do you do in emergencies?"
P: "The form wasn't from an emergency department, sir, so we don't do faxes."
M: "Ok, well this gentleman has been spiking fevers in spite of antibiotics, I need to know if any blood cultures drawn on him at your center have come back positive."
P: "I'm not qualified to give that information sir, let me see if anyone here is."
M: "Ok."
P: "One moment"
(TEN MINUTES LATER)
P: "Hello, my name is Janet, you are calling about Mr. Doe?"
M: "Yes, ma'am."
P: "We have a discharge summary, but no microbiology lab values here."
M: "Is there any mention of an infection on the discharge summary?"
P: "Let me see." (5 minute wait) "Sir? Yes, there is a mention that he was treated for a urinary tract infection, blood sepsis, and pneumonia." eek confused eek
M: "Did they draw any cultures?"
P: "What sort of cultures?"