Forums > Social Chat > Jaw dropping to the floor....

Login/Join to Participate

SpindarellaBellamember
1 post

Posted:
Please forgive me if I sound corny but this site is totally amazing to me right now. I was actually looking for tribal butterfly tattoos in Google.com’s search engine and this site came up in the list. So of course I click onto it expecting to find butterflies and to my surprise I find something other than that; Something rather interesting to me. I DO THIS STUFF!!! I’ve been doing it for the past 5 years. I never knew it was called POI though. Never even heard of the word. We here in NYC call it spinning (at least everyone I know calls it that). Hell, I never expected to stump across a website either. Anyway, I use to frequent clubs on a weekly basis and the first time I saw it done it totally sparked my interest. Went home, got some glowstix and strings and started “Poiing” lol (still can’t get use to the word) I beat the hell outta myself but that didn’t stop me. I just kept on and on until I finally got really good at it. In matter of fact, I met my fiancé (now ex-fiancé) by doing it. There use to be other girls in the clubs doing it too but as soon as I stepped into the circle, they never came back. I blew them away… and most of the guys away too. My ex was amazing at it as well. We got so good at it that clubs all over NYC hired us for parties and shows and we’d get paid lovely… just for doing what we did for fun. We even came up with synchronized routines. It was pretty difficult because we both had different styles. See, I absolutely love to dance and I add that in while I Spin, Poi – lol. It just makes it look all the more better along with attitude! My ex basically B-Bopps in one spot but he is sooo ill. No one could do half the stuff he did. But the synchronized routines were just way too cool. We’d watch ourselves on video and just couldn’t believe what we could do. It was great. Now we work for a few DJ companies and 99.9% of the guest