Lixtrimmember
32 posts

Posted:
I'm kinda the only one who pratice this art in my area, I've only had my poi for a short while and I wonder how hard it is to leran it by your selfe with no one there to help or guide you.
(except from the lessons on this site)

I got this pair of comet poi and they seem to tangle a lot, are they very sensitive to wind?

Give a lonely beginner some tips please.

Regards / The lonely Swede Christian

NickCMonkey Wrangler
183 posts

Posted:
How hard is it? About this hard -----> .

It just takes longer in my opinion. You can't rely on someone else pointing out your mistakes, you have to pay attention to what your hands are doing when you mess up and break it down to figure out what's going wrong. I'm completely self taught outside of this site and don't own any 'commercial' fire wicks, poi of any type of staff. If I want a new staff, that means a trip to the hardware store, new fire chains - hardware store, new wicks - rag bin. So in short, yes, it can be done.

Lixtrimmember
32 posts

Posted:
quote:
Originally posted by NickC:
You can't rely on someone else pointing out your mistakes, you have to pay attention to what your hands are doing when you mess up and break it down to figure out what's going wrong
That can be so damn frustrating .....

Btw how long did it take you to become good?

_Stix_Pooh-Bah
2,419 posts

Posted:
I'm all self taught, well when I was learning the basics I didn't know anyone who I could learn from.. it was only when I found the group in Guildford and HoP that I started to have other influences.. up untill that time I was quite happy with my weave and butterflies.. it's good to get the basics down rite - practise on your planes.. and it'll all be cool..

enjoy what you can do and don't try to improve too much too quickly - I now see people attempting behind the back weave without being able to do a nice forward weave.. it looks really messy

I honour you as an aspect of myself..