Timmymember
45 posts

Posted:
If you were teaching some-one (who never has) to poi, where would you start?Tim /|\

psychomonkeymember
148 posts

Posted:
I am no expert, by any means, but the two people, I have taught (not including myself) I taught the same way I learned. I just taught them the basics,, forced them to swing at their side for a while. Then just moved from there. In other words : Just Do it!-PSM

One can only see what one observes, and one observes only things which are already in the mind.-Alphonse Bertillon

AnonymousPLATINUM Member

Posted:
I'd started them with clubs. smileSeriously, starting with clubs means the student can start or stop a trick anywhere. It also means they learn really good hand technique, because they have to have a lot of hand strength and precision to spin clubs. They'll be more disciplined and efficient spinner when they get to poi, not to mention picking up tricks a lot quicker. OK, now I'll shut up about clubs. winkPoi, yes, I agree with Psycho. Start with the swinging at the sides. Get them going together forward, alternating forward, together backwards, alternating backwards. Whatever you teach them, make sure they learn it equally well in all directions and get from one direction to another without loosing their flow. Hope this helpsDiana

PeleBRONZE Member
the henna lady
6,193 posts

Posted:
This came up for me the other night with a particularly uncoordinated friend. I started him on simple forward swings at the sides, then backward, then split time for both, then in front (not butterfly..just in front) and crossing over the body (since it's like a jump rope move). Thank god he ONLY wanted to learn that much as a trick with fuzzy dice he was going to play on another bolo-esque performer we know. After two hours he kind-of had it enough for his purposes and I had to take some Tylenol!!!! smile------------------Pele Higher, higher burning fire...making music like a choir...

Pele