Forums > Help! > Controlling Planes With Contacr Poi

Login/Join to Participate

Squire19SILVER Member
2 posts

Posted:
Hi guys,

I recently bought a pair of wrapsta contact poi. This is my first pair, and I'm quite new to poi. I'm having trouble controlling my planes when attempting a 3-beat weave with the contact poi, and I was wondering if I should be holding it differently or angling my hand in a different direction (I usually put the ball handle in my fingers with the string coming from between the forefinger and middle finger).

beaniebobGOLD Member
casually noob tech poi spinrar
155 posts

Posted:
There really isn't any special trick to controlling planes. It's all just muscle memory and practice. I don't like to be blunt, but that's just how it is. Keep practicing, don't give up - everybody you see who's crazy, like Keith Marshall, Arashi, Drex or Cyrille, they've all spent countless hours training to get that good.

That said, spinning new poi can throw you off a little sometimes, especially if you're switching between different amounts of stretch or radically different weights. But again, just keep at it, yo. It'll pass.

P.S. - It doesn't matter too much how you hold the poi unless they're physically blocking you from doing a move, or for tosses sometimes. Play around with different grips, find out what's comfortable for you.

"If all else fails, immortality can always be assured by spectacular error."

Squire19SILVER Member
2 posts

Posted:
No, no, bluntness and honesty are great in criticism. Thanks for replying smile

I guess that the two main reasons I thought that I might be handling the handles incorrectly were:

1. I have worked with other poi (ones with one or two finger loops) and done similar motions with less effort. I am also experimenting with butterfly combinations(with my wrapsta poi), but have little/no problems with planes-only when I try to keep moving while my arms are crossed.

And: