Forums > Social Discussion > How do you make a living with your art?

Login/Join to Participate

arrwileystranger
2 posts

Posted:
Hey guys. So I've been a professional artist of a variety of stripes and wildly fluctuating income since my mid teens, and now that I'm almost 30 with a young child and wife, I keep coming back to this question, of how do you make a substantial income while still doing what you love? So I made a little video about it, and I'd like to get a conversation amongst us, my favorite art and my favorite artists: object manipulators.

Thanks for watching!

EDITED_BY: arrwiley (1342559180)

ChronosHow is it that one careless match can start a forest fire, but it takes a whole box to start a campfire?
20 posts

Posted:
grin Hey dude, nice vid, especially liked the part where it almost looked like you dropped the cam and ended up on the artwork hehe. I'd like to share with you my experience, cause I asked myself this question too and then made a big plan.

I make a living out of being a musician, dj, photographer, and recently started fire knife dancing.

I used to live in London England, doing those things (besides the juggling) but found it very difficult because of the competition in all my fields of profession, also 3 years ago when the recession came it turned into a nightmare to find work at all.
My first step to making a living was to move to a place with a whole lot more positive tourism towards the things that I do.
3 years ago I chose to move to a town in Spain called Beniorm because it's full of tourists that come over to be entertained. People want to see what you have to offer.