hcjesse22stranger
1 post

Posted:
Hi everyone, I'm rather new to poi (just kinda-sorta have been messing around with it the past few months), but I've been getting more into the past few days and can definitely see a new obsession developing smile

Anyways, I've been doing 5 beat weaves pretty much since my first month of poi, and I figured I'd give the 7 beat a try just for fun (didn't think I'd at all be able to do it), and after just a little bit of trying I can do it rather well. I'm pretty sure it's a true 7 beat weave (my arms double cross and everything). I can nearly do the reverse 7 beat, too!

I was wondering if there's any real risk of injuring myself doing this? The move does admittedly but a moderate amount of stress of my shoulders-not so much that it's really painful, but there's definitely some noticeable discomfort. My one shoulder also makes a cracking noise that sounds similar to someone cracking their knuckles, but not as loud. Not trying to be a worry-ward, just wanna make sure I'm being safe.

And just for curiosity, is there such thing as a true 9 beat weave?

Edit: And sorry if this shouldn't be in the advanced moves section. It seems advanced to me, but what do I know?

EDITED_BY: hcjesse22 (1324097595)

adeathlyauraGOLD Member
The Poi Spinning Undead
173 posts

Posted:
Well, to me it appears as though you may be putting some strain on your tendons. Tendinitis in the shoulders is actually fairly common in flow arts. I'd watch out for it. I injured my shoulder mildly and had to stop spinning poi for about a week. I had to be careful when I started up again the second week too.