Forums > Help! > Help! Homemade Practice Poi causing blisters?

Login/Join to Participate

AliceJones"We're all mad here!"
9 posts

Posted:
Ok, new new newbie here, as in I just made my first practice Poi today from shoe strings and bags of rice.

I was out MAYBE 30 mins today spinning and i have a blister on my left index finger. Was shoestring a bad choice? Should I make a finger gaurd? Is it just part of the process?

I am STOKED to find this board!
TIA

Together WE can make a difference. AS ONE!
Check out my blog for green living hints, tips, ideas, reviews, recipes and MORE!

Facebook duce_622@yahoo.com
I also do Tarot readings and Intuitive Healing!
In Love and Light,
Alice

HoniiSILVER Member
Life's Student
28 posts

Posted:
For my first poi I went over to target and got some panty hose, they're a little bit stretchy but they are more forgiving than shoe string. If you want to stick with shoe strings maybe make a finger guard out of something soft that doesnt hurt when you hold onto it for a long time, at the very least wrapped up in tape so you don't get horrible blisters.

I'm somewhat of a newbie too but that's what I've had from experience so far.

Happy Spinning!

-Honii

Just keep swinging, just keep swinging...

Smurf24029GOLD Member
Poi Master Smurf
343 posts

Posted:
When I started I was fond of knee high socks, with whatever kinda weight you please. This takes you away from the string though like the pantyhose idea, but I have heard of them breaking in time and having to use multiple pairs per weight. I have no real idea though cuz I have never used pantyhose tongue2 Girls knee high or bigger work well though and tend to hold out for quite a while. I still have my very first socks with 3 tennis balls in each and they are still holding up XD. Not without holes of course nowadays. Hope this helps

Fly High
Spin Hard
Don't Stop

astonSILVER Member
Unofficial Chairperson of Squirrel Defense League
4,061 posts

Posted: