Forums > Technical Discussion > Any interest in a Non-toxic Fire Breathing Fuel?

Login/Join to Participate

Mike MachinaBRONZE Member
stranger
5 posts

Posted:
Hi,

I'm a research chemist who learned firebreathing a few summers back and loved it. However, the one thing that turned me off to it was the idea that even using good form, it is possible to aspirate droplets of liquid paraffin (lamp oil), and because it does not break down in the body, it can build up over time and pretty much ruin your lungs. I really haven't touched it in a while because I'm paranoid and a bit of a hypochondriac.

Recently, I've been designing a fuel that is totally bio-compatible and able to be broken down by the body. Obviously, there is still a slight risk of chemical pneumonia (you can get CP from milk if you accidentally inhale it), but it would at least have a much shorter breakdown time in the body than liquid paraffin or kero. Toxicity is super low - LD50 is above 5g/kg, essentially as toxic as table salt.

The physical properties are the same or even better than paraffin, as I can tweak the viscosity and flashpoint for ideal firebreathing. And it tastes better than kero. I'm also think about creating multiple grades of flashpoint - low for vapor tricks and eating, medium for breathing, high for spinning/fire dancing.

It's not biodiesel, though it is similar. Renewable, green, environmentally friendly, biodegradable.

It's not FireWater/Pegasol/3440/alkanes/iso-parrafins/lamp oil/lighter fluid, either (All of those are high purity C12-C16 saturated aliphatic paraffins).

I don't have an MSDS at the moment because a) it's still in R&D and b) I'm trying to maintain intellectual property. But I can assure you it is no more dangerous than high-purity food-grade biodiesel. I plan on using it myself, after all, and I'm paranoid about my health smile

I might even be able to do colors.