Dan Mitchellmember
4 posts

Posted:
Is there any sort of notation for moves? I'm just learning, and I'm trying to make sure I've covered all the possible ways to do a particular thing before I start worrying about anything more complex. (eg, a turn -- can go forwards/backwards, LH leads/RH leads, turn L/R, hand leads in front of/behind/static, pausing in mid-turn, etc).

It gets pretty awkward describing everything in writing, especially now I'm realising that a lot of stuff that seemed difficult is actually pretty easy once you know how all the bits go together so the descriptions tend to be "it's like [foo], but left hand goes a beat later", which isn't as clear as I'd like.

Anyway, to save myself the effort, has anyone done this before? I realise there's no way to cover everything (or even a fraction of stuff -- wraps, stalls, releases, on and on), but heck, the less I have to do the better.

Also, it tends to work out that once you've got this sort of structure in place, it's possible to find things that you wouldn't have otherwise thought of.

(now, I realise I could use some sort of Labanotation (extended for props, I suppose), but good grief, that's a scary thing)

ShawnFmember
162 posts

Posted:
I think someone may have tried something basic in the past, but not totally sure.

There is of course notation (text and state diagrams) for ball juggling and club passing. There is TFY notation for basic yo-yo string tricks. Even string figures have a text notation for the fingers.

Perhaps someone has done something for club swinging or meteors? That might be a good thing to jump off from if they have...

I do think that having something could be helpful, especially to cut through conflicting names of tricks or slight variations on things.

I don't think I have the time to do one from scratch, but if you want help with ideas on things, maybe we can come up with something...

Shawn

GlåssDIAMOND Member
The Ministry of Manipulation
2,523 posts

Posted: