Sepamember
184 posts

Posted:
I find when I'm spinning that lots of other people want a go, but I have no idea what to teach them that's easy and encourages them to keep going with the poi.

I've been trying to teach the butterfly, but it's really quite tricky, especially for someone with just a casual interest.

Does anyone know any moves which look (and feel) great, but which are easy peasy for a beginner and which might encourage them to keep going?

SaBBaSenthusiast
215 posts

Posted:
hey sepa
i usually start by teaching them how to do the weave, or an approximation. might be because it was the first move i learnt (self taught) and i really have a special feeling towards that move...
i think it's easy and looks really nice...
cya
SaBBaS

Don't you destroy your enemy by making him your friend?? - Rev Bem (Magog), Andromeda

phunkyold hand
877 posts

Posted:
Easy moves hmm. When i first started spinning i was taught to learn the easier moves such as the btb 5-beat weave and multitudes of between the legs moves. After that i moved to to much harder moves such as the butterfly and figure 8.

heh, j/k. My advice would be to learn the figure 8 forwards and backwards. Learn how to turn the poi forwards and backwards also. Try to learn moves that enable you to move rather than moves that make you stationary. It will give you a better foundation to work off of in the long run.

Sepamember
184 posts

Posted:
*chuckle*

Yeah, btb weave is a sinch... definately a good one for beginners.

I take your meaning about moves requiring movement as opposed to standing still. Maybe low and high turns so they can change the direction. I'll give it a go next time someone asks.

thanks.

phunkyold hand
877 posts

Posted:
high and low turns are exactly what i was talking about.

High turns and low turns are actually just half of a different move.

High turn, chasing the sun instead of bringing it over again continue from reverse.