Forums > Social Chat > The dealing with of Race in Children's books.

Login/Join to Participate

ASTRO FAERIEBRONZE Member
ummmmmmm.............
724 posts

Posted:
Ok guys, i could do with some help. I'm studying Illustration at degree level, and im going to be writing my dissertation next year.
The dissertation is going to be a comparison of two authors/illustrators from early 1900's, and two present day, to show how attitudes to the representation of race in childrens illustration/writing have changed.
If anyone has any useful information or ideas it would be really appreciated.ie. books recommendations, websites etc.
Thanx

Only when the last tree has died
and the last river has been poisoned
and the last fish has been caught
will we realise that we
cannot eat money.

Cree Indian, 1909

onewheeldaveGOLD Member
Carpal \'Tunnel
3,252 posts

Posted:
Any childrens books with golliwog characters would probably be relevant.

I'm not sure but didn't the 'Noddy' books have one? I seem to rememeber that there were some problems with its political correctness.

"You can't outrun Death forever.
But you can make the Bastard work for it."

--MAJOR KORGO KORGAR,
"Last of The Lancers"
AFC 32

Educate your self in the Hazards of Fire Breathing STAY SAFE!

polytheneveteran
1,359 posts

Posted:
indeed, when they wated to put the books back in print, first all the illustrations had to be re-done, taking out the gollies and putting evil teddy bears in their place as the bad guys.

The optimist claims that we are living in the best of all possible worlds.
The pessimist fears this is true.

Always make time to play in the snow.

ASTRO FAERIEBRONZE Member
ummmmmmm.............
724 posts

Posted: