Forums > Beginner Poi Moves > When to resume Poi practice after an illness?

Login/Join to Participate

EpitomeOfNoviceGOLD Member
Putting the "FUN" in fundamental since 1981
787 posts

Posted:
Hey there everyone, I've been absent from the board for a few days due to the Flu and being wiped out from the sickness plus the medications given to me for my sickness. I'm on a week long course of Prednisone because this virus has set my asthma out of control, I'm also on a course on very strong antibiotics due to a secondary infection along with cough syrup and my regular asthma/allergy medications.

I'm wondering at what point is it safe to resume vigorous activity like Poi under these circumstances. I'm just a beginner, but with my heart rate and respiration being affected I think I at least need to take it easy until I finish those week long courses of meds. If I still have any lingering minor sickness after that I'll play it by ear because I've had to do work and such with mild sickness before many times in life. My brain isn't all there so I know not to even try to spin until that is working properly again! duck

Have any of you guys had to make this judgment call in your practicing due to illness and what worked for you? Have you pushed yourself to early maybe or just waited long enough for the exercise to be a benefit to getting fully well? Advice would be most appreciated.

*just can't stand being sluggish and drained* tired

~Rock on!~

"As the pattern gets more intricate and subtle, being swept along is no longer enough"-Waking Life

(All you RLers this is epitome_of_lame *waves hello*)

AllToreUpSILVER Member
the large print giveth, and the small print taketh away...
19 posts

Posted:
You could still practice stalls and such until you're feeling better. They don't really require too much effort. If you shorten the poi you could even practice while sitting down crazy

But yeah, I'd avoid the more intense stuff til you're feeling good again.