MikeGinnyGOLD Member
HOP Mad Doctor
13,925 posts

Posted:
I hit an odd milestone today.

Today my new stethoscope came in the mail. This is my second.

I'd bet that 50% of doctors out there still have the same stethoscope that they had in medical school. My good friend, a physician of 25 years, has his FATHER'S 70 year-old stethoscope and swears that "they just don't make 'em like they used to!"

Now my stethoscope, when I was a third year medical student, had a rather unfortunate run-in with the spokes of my bike while I was coming home from work one day. It's still worked for a long time, but a few weeks ago I was listening to a baby and I felt the lungs were clear. My friend Caroline came along and said "woah! Crackles!"

I said, "I didn't hear any crackles, where are they?"

She pointed. "Here."

I placed my stethoscope and listened. Nothing. Just air moving in and out. I shook my head.

She put her stethoscope there and then put its earpieces around my ears. "Listen," she said.

And I heard very LOUD crackles.

Time to get a new stethoscope!

And may THIS one (with my name monogramed on it) will hopefully last me my career.

-Mike

Certified Mad Doctor and HoP High Priest of Nutella

A buckuht n a hooze! -Valura

Mint SauceBRONZE Member
veteran
1,453 posts

Posted:
pah not if you worked in this country us pesky nurses have a habit of pinching the doctors stethoscopes (te he ) we use them more than they do any hoo and they earn more than us we generally give them back at the end of there rotation with us smile rotation lol (only it they ask nicely though

before i met those lot i thought they'd be a bunch of dreadlocked hippies that smoked, set things on fire ,and drank a lot of tea but then when i met them....oh wait (PyroWill)

CantusSILVER Member
Tantamount to fatuity
15,966 posts

Posted:
So the monogram says MLG then?

hug

although is 3 letters a monogram? Surely that would be a triogram....

confused
EDITED_BY: Cantus (1142913756)

Meh