SeGeeSILVER Member
12 posts

Posted:
Hello, Im new to poi and havea few questions that confused me on this forum. What are "Beats?" I can do weave forward and backwards. Now, no idea how many beats it is.

I would also like to have some help with finding more guides about poi tricks apart from the ones that "Home of poi" offers. Maybe also some page with tips on how to move from one trick to the next in a smooth motion.

thanks

EDIT: Could someone experienced maybe also write up a timeline on how long it took to be noob-good. to start with fire etc. thanks

EDITED_BY: SeGee (1126891267)

RevBRONZE Member
Bastard Newbie Messiah
1,269 posts

Posted:
I'll be nice.. before someone jumps in here and yells at you for not searching.. (though I really think its funny.. when you go to a library or a video store and ask someone for something they dont yell at you to search.. but they also get paid no to yell 'search' at you.)

anyway..
beats are a lovely term to teach people how be confused about poi for extended periods of time.. beats come in different variety.. poi beats.. the circles made by the poi.. and move beats.. move beats are the only ones that are confusing because move beats come with a nifty mathematical formula.. (number of poi beats total)/2
why? because it seemed like a good idea at the time, I suppose... now it focuses more on arm circles than poi beats I guess....bu dont worry about that.. by the time you get to working on that stuff beats wont amtter anymore anyway.. wink

how many beats is your weave.. well if you are spinning forward.. how many times do the poi cross the top of a circle on each side? it can be akward at times..

there are more tricks here than you will find anywhere.. they are all over this forum.. not in the video/tutorial, begginger guide.. or whatever it is that they link to.. there's also spherculism.com...