Forums > Social Discussion > When does being good at something become arrogant?

Login/Join to Participate
Page:
RoziSILVER Member
100 characters max...
2,996 posts

Posted:
I am spinning with a uni club at the moment, and I feel really weird about it. For a start, I feel way too old. I am a staff member there, and by god do I feel like the odd one out amongst the students.

I am better than the other poi spinners there. I know more, and I can put it together more smoothly. But there are some amazing skills around me and some nifty new ideas. Its just that I feel so strange about teaching. If I walk up to someone and say "hey, what can I teach you?" it will sound so arrogant. And it shuts me out. Its not so bad with total newbies, but with those who know a lot already. I don't know how to bridge the divide of age and skill level.

Any suggestions?

And if any of you were there, please know I think you are lovely. And I may seem quiet and strange and arrogant, but I am just feeling uncomfortable. Its not you, its me.

It was a day for screaming at inanimate objects.

What this calls for is a special mix of psychology and extreme violence...

ValuraSILVER Member
Mumma Hen
6,391 posts

Posted:
Age is but a number, life experience makes you wise sweetie, and from what I know of you, you would be able to relate to anyone at all.....
I think prehaps the best way to approach it would be
"would you like to share? Prehaps you could teach me some new things or share some new ideas and vise versa?"
then help them to smooth out some of the moves that you may have noticed that they are almost getting.... believe me, when they 'get' the move they will be so stoked that the thought of arrogance will not even enter their heads...
That way its an exchange... they help you and you help them...

Thats how I approach when I see someone doing the two beat and really trying to get the three or something like that...