Forums > Social Chat > Be wary of salespeople

Login/Join to Participate

ViciousVixenmember
103 posts

Posted:
I have been working at a wireless phone company for 6 months now as a salesperson training for management. I had heard about how people in sales can be untrustworthy, but I thought it only applied to car or door-to-door sales. I have realized now that it extends beyond these areas. It doesn't matter whether they're paid 100% commission or only partial commission, or what industry they work in. You should pay attention, do research, and be careful.

The first store that I worked at, the manager upgraded a customer's phone and the customer paid cash, so after the customer left, the manager modified the invoice to look as though he had discounted the price of the phone for the customer, when in actuality, he just took the cash. None of us realized this occurred until the customer came back in to cancel the upgrade and return the new phone. Upon looking at the invoice in our computer, it looked as though we were supposed to refund the customer about $170, but the customer remembered paying $220. Conveniently, the manager had not given the customer a receipt, and had filled out the paperwork with all the correct phone prices. It was the customer's word against the manager's, and thankfully the manager lost anyway.