Page:
Gabimember
3 posts

Posted:
So this afternoon I was playing outside and started experimenting with throwing my poi in the air. It was quite difficult at first but eventually i was able to throw one poi at a time over my head doing 1/2 a revolution and then a full one quite confortably. My only problem is that my handles are made of leather which made catching them extremely frustrating, most of the time I had to catch them at the end of my chains. I'm still pretty new to all this stuff and was just wondering if any of you toss fire poi,. Also looking for suggestions on how to make my handles easier to catch. Thanks everyonegabi

phunkyold hand
877 posts

Posted:
my friend has does some crazy tosses with fire. Under the arm, behind the back etc.You're probably just going to have to change your straps. Or just catch it by the chain and somehow get your fingers back in the straps with out ruining your flow.------------------[]Dhuong-Vu Truong==== []Dhunky ====

adamricepoo-bah
1,015 posts

Posted:
Perhaps he'll chime in himself, but one of the participants on this board, Bassman, has made fire-poi with tennis balls as handles. I've seen him do some interesting release moves with these. He comes to poi from juggling, so it's not much surprise.

Laugh while you can, monkey-boy

Bassmanmember
95 posts

Posted:
As Adam was saying, I use tennis balls wrapped in electrical tape as handles when I'm doing fire poi. I think balls as handles are definitely the way to go if you want to do a lot of tossing. I generally don't use straps. As a juggler the thought of having my hands strapped in just seems wrong frown

phunkyold hand
877 posts

Posted:
That actually gives me an idea...glowsticks on both ends of the poi... do some tossing catch on any end and start spinning again... may open up new moves... hmmm, crazy.------------------[]Dhuong-Vu Truong==== []Dhunky ====

CassandraFroggie ... Ribbit !!!
4,224 posts

Posted: